Skip to content
+44 (0)1534 639998 |
+44 (0)1534 639998 |

Tchaikovsky handwritten signed musical quotation


A handwritten musical quotation signed by the Russian composer Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893).

Tchaikovsky's enduring works include 'Swan Lake' (1876), 'The Nutcracker' (1892), the '1812 Overture' (1880) and the opera 'Eugene Onegin' (1878).

The quotation, notated in A flat, comprises four bars on one hand-drawn stave from Tchaikovsky's celebrated solo oboe melody, the 'Andantino in Modo di Canzona', taken from the second movement of his fourth symphony.

Tchaikovsky described the symphony as having "that melancholy feeling which come[s] in the evening when, wary from one's toil, one sits alone...

“There come a whole host of memories. It is sad that so much is now past and gone, yet pleasant to recall one's youth- both regretting the past, and yet not wishing to begin life over again..."

Tchaikovsky has crisply signed beneath the quotation "P.Tchaikovsky" and dated the note 1st June 1893.

The sheet measures 4.5” by 5.9”, and is partially overlaid by a gilt mount.

In fine condition, with some mild foxing and slight brushing to the ink.

A rare signed musical manuscript signed by one of history's most celebrated composers.

Read our newsletter to discover more about this item.

Free global delivery. 28 day returns.

  • BUY NOW: Order online, by phone +44 (0)1534 639 998, or via email

Payment & Security

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.