Skip to content
+44 (0)1534 639998 |
+44 (0)1534 639998 |

British Indian Ocean Territory 1968 5r multicoloured, SG14b

SKU JC1789

British Indian Ocean Territory 1968 5r multicoloured "Regina Mundi Convent", type 1 overprint, upper left corner block of 4, upper right stamp variety No stop after "O" (R2/1), with large part omission on R2/2, SG14b.

Very fine unmounted mint positional block of four with full original gum.

A scarce positional multiple with this printing variety.

The Stanley Gibbons catalogue value is £90+.

The British Indian Ocean Territory was created as a crown colony on 8 November 1865 when it comprised the Chagos Archipelago, previously administered by Mauritius, together with the islands of Aldabra, Farquhar and Desroches, previously administered by Seychelles. The islands are used mainly by the UK and the USA as an airbase occupied by military personnel and a few private contractors.

The first stamps used from 17 January 1968 were Seychelles stamps overprinted “B.I.O.T.”

  • BUY NOW: Order online, by phone +44 (0)1534 639 998, or via email

Payment & Security

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.