The Royal Mail celebrates the Royal Society



2015-06-26 11:53:35

The Royal Mail celebrates the Royal Society

A collection of stamps celebrating 350 years of pioneering thinkers has been released

2010is the 350th anniversary of The Royal Society, the world's oldest scientific academy. In celebration, Royal Mail has today released ten 1st class stamps noting as many thinkers and their achievements.

The Society itself suggested the format: one thinker representing an idea or great progress for each 35 year block since it was founded. The thinkers credited are as follows:

Robert Boyle (the first true chemist who studied gases),

Isaac Newton (world famous physicist whose laws of motion revolutionised science),

Benjamin Franklin (made discoveries about electricity when not founding the United States)

Edward Jenner (pioneered vaccinations with an experiment to combat smallpox)

Charles Babbage (conceived of and created the first computer - or 'Difference Engine')

Royal Society Stamps Stampss showing great thinkers of the Royal Society

Alfred Russel Wallace (naturalist who conceived of evolution by natural selection independently of Darwin)

Joseph Lister (pioneered antiseptic surgery)

Ernest Rutherford (proposed the planetary model of the atom)

Dorothy Hodgkin (developed crystallography, revealing the structure of biological molecules)

Sir Nicholas Shackleton (his work is used in understanding Climate Change)

A set of stamps depicting classic rock album images was released last month.

Don't forget to sign up for your free newsletter with exclusive content

Image: Royal Mail

Share on social media
Write a response...

The bookmarklet lets you save things you find to your collections.

Note: Make sure your bookmarks are visible.


Click and drag the Collect It button to your browser's Bookmark Bar.

collect it