Lot 608: Schneider Trophy The Royal Aero Club, Informal Banquet on board the Orient Liner "Orford" on the Occasion of the Schneider Trophy Contest 1929



2015-11-04 16:25:21

Lot 608: Schneider Trophy. The Royal Aero Club. Informal Banquet on board the Orient Liner "Orford" on the Occasion of the Schneider Trophy Contest 1929, Saturday 7th September, Chairman the Right Hon. Sir Philip A.G.D. Sassoon, printed menu on off-white folded card, 15 pencil autographs to front including Schneider Trophy team winners, Richard Waghorn, Richard Atcherley, George Stainforth, Augustus Orlebar and J.H. Moon, other autographs include J.T.C. Moore-Brabazon, Sydney L. Smith, R.L. Marix, D. Carlos Perkins, C.B. Wilson, Aiken McClean, F.K. McClean, L. Moore-Brabazon, plus two illegible signatures to front and one to lower board, pencil initials J.B. to upper right corner, 19 x 12.5cm, together with a good copy of the official Souvenir Programme for the Schneider Trophy contest 1931 and a Diamond Jubilee Schneider Trophy booklet, both original printed wrappers, slim 8vo/slim 4to. This eleventh contest for the Schneider Trophy took place at Calshot on 6th and 7th September 1929. British representatives, managed by A.H. Orlebar, were two Supermarine S.6s flown by Waghorn and Atcherley, and the D'Arcy Creig's Supermarine S5 Stainforth was in reserve with two Gloster Napier 6. The great winner was Flight Officer Henry "Dick" Waghorn while Atcherley was disqualified for missing a pylon, his glasses carried away by the wind. Dal Molin for Italy was second and D'Arcy Creig was third. (3) Dominic Winter's Automobilia & Motoring Literature Vintage Bicycles Maritime & Railways, Toys & Models Thursday, 12th November 2015 Estimate: £200-300
Write a response...

The bookmarklet lets you save things you find to your collections.

Note: Make sure your bookmarks are visible.


Click and drag the Collect It button to your browser's Bookmark Bar.

collect it