DC Comics



2015-06-26 10:53:57

DC Comics is a US comic book publisher. It is the publishing arm of DC Entertainment Inc., itself a subsidiary of Warner Bros. It is the second largest comic book publisher in the world, behind Marvel. DC controls around 30 per cent of the market.

DC Comics publishes stories under a number of different titles including Action Comics, Detective Comics and MAD Magazine. Popular characters include Batman, Superman and Wonder Woman.



The company was founded by Major Malcolm Wheeler-Nicholson as National Allied Publications in 1934.

National Allied Publications merged with Detective Comics Inc. in the 1930s to form National Comics.

Despite being known unofficially as DC Comics for many years, the company only took the name in 1977.

Key publications

In February 1935 the company published its first title, New Fun: The Big Comic Magazine #1 in tabloid size. The second title, New Comics #1, appeared in December 1935 – in a slightly larger size than the majority of today’s titles.

The world’s first super hero comic arrived in 1938 with Action comics No. 1 which introduced Superman.

Detective Comics was first produced by Detective Comics, Inc. in March 1937 and provided the debut for Batman in May 1939. It was from this publication that DC Comics took its name.

Most expensive publication

A copy of Action Comics #1 fetched $1.5 million at a ComicConnect.com auction in March 2010 – making it the most expensive comic book ever sold.


DC Comics currently publishes 80 titles a month and almost 1,000 issues a year.

Share on social media
Write a response...

The bookmarklet lets you save things you find to your collections.

Note: Make sure your bookmarks are visible.


Click and drag the Collect It button to your browser's Bookmark Bar.

collect it